Monday, January 7, 2013

Pat Kernighan to lead new Oakland City Council

The eight member Oakland City Council has three new faces and a new leader.  At a special meeting this morning Dan Kalb, Lynette Gibson-McElhaney and Noel Gallo were sworn in as the new Council Members for districts 1, 3 and 5 respectively.  Pat Kernighan who represents district 2 and is the third longest serving member of the Council replaces Larry Reid as President of the Council.

Also this morning, Larry Reid was selected as Vice Mayor and Rebecca Kaplan was picked as the new President Pro Tempore.

The Council next meets on Wednesday (January 9) at 10:30 am when committee assignments for the next two years will be announced. 

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home